Why does she leave me,
This is the question I asked when rejected

But now it seems oh so foolish to ask.
She was not perfectand passed me by because of this.
She was like every other woman I knew.
Sheput her own interest above mine.
She had mud over her eye similar to a swine.
She could not see my perfect art was more important than her,
so I had to lether go.
My sculptors were carved in stone showing loneliness but also my love.
My love, those I’ve knowns love and the love of gods above.
I sculpted picturesof life itself, or what I thought that life should be. Sometimes man withoutwomen alone and weary but sometimes the two together in sheer beauty.
Life wasthis way, because some find love while others don’t.
This is what she hadwanted me to give up, this was her terrible fee,
My sculptures of life andbeauty
Who could be so cruel?
Who could think I would consider them above mydivine gift?
Did she think me a fool?
Surely though, I was not and I could not agreewith these women’s demand,
I paid a price for my sacrifice of not gettingmarried, loneliness was it,
but I thought that loneliness was a price fair, sostay lonely I dared.
I wanted a woman who would have her own feelings but lovemy sculptures above all else, and consider them what they were, wealth.
So with my divine gift for sculpting stone I began to sculpt a womanwith human features and perfection,
she would have this, even if she could nothave bones.
Finally, my creation was done, I stood looking at its beauty,stunned.
It was the most beautiful of all my creations and I fell in love. Shewas perfect and had no blemish like the other women.
I wanted her to be real somuch that I prayed to the gods above.
I wanted her to be like me, and love me,I wanted her to feel.
I wanted her to see me and love me.
My wish was grantedand together we live on this earth in happiness still.

Ms. Miller
3/13/2011 11:28:56 pm

Interesting. Are you saying that Pygmalion had a girlfriend/wife before Galatea who didn't appreciate his art? 100%

Reply



Leave a Reply.